At least


 

If I cant open the bolted window
Do I dare push back the curtains
At least?
If not some drops of the wayward rain,
Let a little sunshine in
At least.

Do I dare cut off
This weighty mass of hair
Be me,
With chapped lips, cracked heels
Complete
With my freckles and open pores.
With my scars and my curves
Me
Minus these layers
On the face, on the neck,
And all over the body.

Let the diamond ring, the gold bangles
The silver anklets stay locked
In the locker, for a day.
Lift that ghoonghat a little
Get a clearer view
Discard the suffocating burkha
Forget the unmanagable dupatta
at home,

Then, step outside on that day
When the comments become inaudible
When the Gaze cannot follow me.
When I can run and jump
Not just walk
Laugh with a shriek
Not simply smile.

I cannot upset the order of the universe
I cannot mess up the entire society
But Do I dare cause a stir
At least?

One thought on “At least

  1. Yeah..such a rendering may crack the frozen psyche, and may stir the melted consciousness to the extent qualified by the stoical ‘Atleast’.

    Like

What do you think about this post?